Two poems from Maria Isakova Bennett

The Poetry Shed

Love Letter

The colour of you at the station today
is nothing I know the shade of –
you are a green myth;
the clothes you bought for me still hold our scent.
Your skin buzzes in my hands –
I can always see water-stars when I’m close to you.
Remember our first bed –
maroon and cream
and how the sheets made us feel Bedouin?
Stills of every place we slept silver through me –
there are lights flickering at midnight windows.
Do you see the stars darling: the way we keep striving?

First published in Crannog 39, June 2015

Habibi

leans in close –
strikes his breast like a confession
offers his open hand to me
strikes his breast
offers his open hand

big love, he says
shakes his head
presses his lips like a prayer
closes his eyes, and I close mine
and feel a shift
like…

View original post 149 more words

Leave a Reply

