R.I.P. Muhammad Ali

Maintenantman's Blog

cooper-ali fight

This time capsule was crafted by a Shropshire Star photographer just before my 17th birthday in March 1966. I had just won a competition in the newspaper: the prize was two ringside seats for the Muhammad Ali versus Henry Cooper World Heavyweight Championship fight to be held in May at Highbury Stadium in London.

When the newspaper asked me who I would give the other ticket to I immediately said, “My Dad”. That’s him smiling from the car window. He insisted that we had to dress up for the photographer. As you can see, I scarcely had a hair out of place.

When the time came we took a train down to London (the car only seemed to work within a five mile radius of home). I can remember the mounting excitement of the tube journey to Highbury…the hard endeavour of the boxers on the undercard…the famous people sitting nearby…

View original post 530 more words

Leave a Reply

