Mara Bergman, Robin Houghton, Abegail Morley and Jeremy Page

The Poetry Shed

Great evening of readings at the Pitcher and Piano (very nice venue)… thank you to my lovely guest readers and my wonderful editor Jane Commane who made my launch go brilliantly. Oh and thanks to all the people who came…

SONY DSC SONY DSC

GIRL WITH A PEN IN HER HAND

That Saturday I lay in bed, head throbbing,
throat on fire, my stepdad chose it
from the library, a biography

about three sisters who lived somewhere
in England. I loved to read
how they loved to write, I wanted to be

a sister like that. If it had been another day,
if I’d not had another throbbing throat…
I’m searching for it now, remembering

how I lay there turning pages
as the pain began to ease, releasing me
into winter on some windy heath.

Mara Bergman

River Ouse, Rodmell, 1941

The first she prises out, clenched in bindweed:
reluctance adds to…

View original post 316 more words

Leave a Reply

